Twenty-one students were selected as 2014 Academic Award recipients from Middlesex Community College.  Awards were presented to students during a ceremony on April 25 at MxCC.  The award recognizes second-year students who have excelled in their studies at the College.  The ceremony is a college tradition that started nine years ago after a group of senior faculty members had the vision to celebrate the close professional relationships that grow between community college students and their teachers.

“This ceremony recognizes graduating students who have the highest grade-point average in each of our academic programs,” said Dr. Steven Minkler, dean of academic affairs.  “I’m proud to say that this year, 21 students from 11 different towns will be recognized as the top scholars in their academic programs.”

Winners from the Business Division were:

  • Bonnie C. Ryder from Durham for Accounting
  • Rachael Woolard from Middletown for Business Administration
  • Christopher Lindblom from New Milford for Marketing

Winners from the Humanities Division were:

  • Hollie Kinney from Meriden for Broadcast-Cinema
  • Mary McAndrew from Lyme for Communications
  • Lindsay Grote from Deep River for Digital Arts/Multimedia
  • Allison Rodman from Higganum for English
  • Katherine Wiernasz from Middletown for Fine Arts
  • Marion Martin from Deep River for General Studies
  • Eleanor Gambardella from Wallingford for Graphic Design
  • William E. Cormier from Moodus for Liberal Arts and Science

Winners from the Social Science Division were:

  • Kristen Erdos from Meriden for Early Childhood Education
  • Sara Kaiser from Cromwell for Human Services
  • Alicia McCoy from Middletown for Social Science

Winners from the Science, Allied Health & Engineering Division were:

  • Lauren Calles from Moodus for Environmental Science
  • Christopher Cecchini from Middletown for Information Systems
  • Michael Cirillo from Moodus for Management Information Systems
  • Rhode Carrion from Middletown for Ophthalmic Design & Dispensing
  • Dianna Konrad from Colchester for Radiologic Technology Program
  • Zaqir Saifi from Rocky Hill for Technology Studies: Computer Engineering Technology
  • Jason S. Goetz from Middletown for Manufacturing Machine Technology Option