The end of the school year brings celebration of accomplishments and achievements. Recently we celebrated the 49 students who were awarded scholarships, as well as the 13 students who successfully completed the first-ever Transitional Year Program. At this time of the year, we also induct students who have illustrated academic excellence, leadership, fellowship, and service to Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society at MxCC.

This year, 48 students  were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa. MxCC President Dr. Anna Wasescha and Dean of Academic Affairs Dr. Steven Minkler participated in the formal induction of these students during a ceremony at Middlesex Community College held on May 9.  Students were chosen for their academic achievement and success as leaders in service and fellowship on the MxCC campus.


Watch the full ceremony on our media site.

As members of the chapter, students organize and participate in campus-wide events such as distributing food baskets and gifts to area families, registering voters, assisting at blood drives, and serving as ushers and greeters at formal functions on campus.  This year, chapter members collected food and books that were distributed to Amazing Grace Food Pantry and local children’s organizations.  Members also develop fundraising events each year for the Phi Theta Kappa scholarship program.

“These extraordinary students came here to Middlesex Community College for a short while in what will be their long lives,” said Dr. Anna Wasescha, MxCC president.  “And while they were here, they shined.  I salute their curiosity, their persistence, and their courage.  The best part of the Phi Theta Kappa induction ceremony, for me, is knowing that these students are going to go out into the world and change it for the better.  We congratulate all new Phi Theta Kappa inductees and wish them every success.”

The ceremony was organized and conducted by chapter advisors, Dr. Lin Lin, MxCC instructor of information systems and computer programming; Patty Raymond, professor of business administration and marketing, and chair of MxCC’s Business Division; and Jennifer Jacek, MxCC mathematics instructor. Lisa Gangone, president of MxCC’s Beta Gamma Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, and George Eames IV, chairman of the Board of Directors of the MxCC Foundation, made remarks during the induction event.

“Since MxCC chartered its chapter of this international honor society in 1996, we have been inspired by the dedication and motivation of our student members,” Raymond said. “We appreciate the tremendous support the chapter receives from the College, the MxCC Foundation, and the overall MxCC community.  This is an important organization that will affect these students positively during their college years and far beyond.”

Inductees were (listed here with hometowns):

Jessica Accardi, Guilford
Flavia Bird, Meriden
Paul Blanchet, Guilford
Peter Blanchet, Guilford
Clifton Brann, Groton
Michael Brown, Middletown
Zackary Capitao, Middletown
Amy Carpenter, Wallingford
Mariah Chadukiewicz, Cromwell
William Cormier, Moodus
Karen Cortese, Wallingford
Colin Cunningham, Madison
Canddy D’Amico, Westbrook
Michael Damone, Northford
Eileen Daniels, Middletown
Christopher Dearstyne, Avon
DiCesare, Wallingford
Nicole Doody, Madison
Matthew Doolittle, Middletown
Joseph Foster, Meriden
Jason Goetz, Middletown
Lindsay Grote, Deep River
Amanda Guerrette, Wallingford
Hollie Kinney, Meriden
Dorota Klukowski, Newington
Melissa Kowaleski, Middletown
Gordon Lewis, Cheshire
Theresa Malone, Higganum
Marion Martin, Deep River
Mara Matteucci, Colchester
Amber McBurney, Meriden
Amy Mettica, Meriden
Elizabeth Milner, Chester
Craig Molter, Middletown
Mariel Nowack, Middletown
Florian Orleanu, Cromwell
Linda Remillard, Wallingford
Allison Rodman, Higganum
Alicia Sbona, Cromwell
Devki Sheth, Meriden
Sandra Soby, Higganum
Elizabeth Spash, Middletown
Adam Stiles, Middletown
Benjamin Sumner, Higganum
Keith Tang, Wallingford
Carolann Tate, Portland
Elizabeth Wagner, Groton
Jennifer White, Higganum
Paulina Wiaderski, Meriden
Donna Zambrano, Cheshire