Fall Semester 2014

Fall 2014

Day Date Description
Monday August 25
  • Faculty Semester Begins
  • “Just In Time” Fall Registration
  • Adjunct Faculty Professional Development (Evening)
Tuesday August 26
  • Student Orientation
  • “Just In Time” Fall Registration
  • Last Day for 100% Tuition Refund
Wednesday August 27 CLASSES BEGIN
Saturday August 30 Saturday Classes Begin – CLASSES HELD
Monday September 1 Labor Day – COLLEGE CLOSED
Friday September 5 Convocation Activities – CLASSES HELD
Tuesday September 9
  • Last Day to Add/Drop Courses
  • Last Day for 50% Tuition Refund
Wednesday September 17 Constitution Day – CLASSES HELD
Monday September 22 “LATE START” CLASSES BEGIN
Monday October 13 Columbus Day– College Open, CLASSES HELD
Tuesday October 14 Professional Day – NO CLASSES
November 3-25 Priority Registration for Continuing Students
Tuesday November 4 Last Day to Make Up “Incompletes” from Spring/Summer 2014
Tuesday November 11 Veterans’ Day – College Open, CLASSES HELD
Tuesday November 11 Last Day to Withdraw from Classes (Instructor’s Signature Required) EXCEPT for Late Start Classes (those beginning September 22 or later)
Wed-Sun Nov. 26-30 11/26 – NO CLASSES (COLLEGE OPEN) – Veterans’ Day Observed (Faculty Holiday)
11/27 – Thanksgiving Day, COLLEGE CLOSED
11/28 – Day After Thanksgiving (Faculty Holiday), College Open
11/29 and 11/30 – COLLEGE CLOSED
Monday  December 1 Last Day to Withdraw from Classes – LATE START CLASSES ONLY (those beginning September 22 or later)
Tuesday December 9 Last Day of Classes
Wed-Tue December 10-16 Final Exams
Friday December 19
  • Grades due by 9:00am
  • Faculty Semester Ends

Winter Session 2014-15

WINTER SESSION 2014-15

Updated 10/14/2014

Monday, December 29 WINTER CLASSES BEGIN
Mon – Wed, December 29-31 Classes Held
Thursday, January 1 New Year’s Day – COLLEGE CLOSED
Friday, January 2 Classes Held
Mon-Fri, January 5-9 Classes Held
Mon-Thur, January 12-15 Classes Held
Friday, January 16 Grades Due by 12:00 Noon

Please note: There is no “make-up” day for on-ground classes that may be cancelled due to inclement weather.  Faculty and students in on-ground classes are expected to use Blackboard as an online alternative if MxCC is closed for the day.

13 Class Periods (On-Ground Classes)

Monday through Friday, 9:30am – 12:35pm (3 credits/3 contact hours)
Monday through Friday, 8:30am – 12:35pm (4 credits/4 contact hours)

Lunch Period, 12:35 – 1:00pm

Monday through Friday, 1:00pm – 4:05pm (3 credits/3 contact hours)
Monday through Friday, 1:00pm – 5:05pm (4 credits/4 contact hours)

CLASS PERIODS INCLUDE 12-15 MINUTES OF “BREAK” TIME SCHEDULED AT DISCRETION OF INSTRUCTOR

Spring Semester 2015

Spring Semester 2015

Click here for a printable PDF version of the Spring 2015 Academic Calendar

Day Date Description
Monday January 19 Martin Luther King Day – COLLEGE CLOSED
Tuesday January 20
  • Faculty Semester Begins
  • “Just In Time” Spring Registration
  • Adjunct Faculty Professional Development (Evening)
  • Last Day for 100% Tuition Refund
Wednesday January 21 CLASSES BEGIN
Friday January 30 Convocation Activities – CLASSES HELD
Tuesday February 3
  • Last Day to Add/Drop Courses
  • Last Day for 50%Tuition Refund
Thursday February 12 Lincoln’s Birthday – COLLEGE OPEN, CLASSES HELD
Monday February 16 Washington’s Birthday – COLLEGE CLOSED
Mon-Sat March 16-22 Spring Break – NO CLASSES
Fri-Sun April 3-5 Days of Reflection – COLLEGE CLOSED
April 6-May 1 Priority Registration for Continuing Students
Tuesday April 7 Last Day to Make Up “Incompletes” from Fall 2014
Wednesday April 15 Last Day to Withdraw from Classes (Instructor’s Signature Required)
Wednesday April 15 GRADUATION APPLICATIONS DUE
Wednesday April 22 Weather Make-Up Day: MONDAY SCHEDULE
Classes that normally meet on Mondays will meet at their regularly scheduled times in their regularly scheduled Monday classrooms. 
Friday April 24
  • Academic Convivium (Research Presentations and Poster Sessions)
  • Academic Awards Night
Thursday May 7 Planning & Assessment Day – NO CLASSES
RESERVED for additional “Weather Make-Up Day” if necessary.
Monday May 11 Last Day of Classes
Tue-Mon May 12-18 Final Exams
Wednesday May 20
  • Grades Due by 12:00 noon
  • Faculty Semester Ends
Monday May 25 Memorial Day – COLLEGE CLOSED
Thursday May 28 COMMENCEMENT

Summer Semester 2015

Session I (5 weeks – May 26 to June 30)
Tuesday, May 26 – Classes begin
Thursday, May 28 – No Classes (Commencement)
Friday, June 19 – Last Day to Withdraw from classes
Tuesday, June 30 – Last Day of ClassesSession II (5 weeks – July 6 to August 7)
Monday, July 6 – Classes begin
Wednesday July 29 – Last Day to Withdraw from classes
Friday, August 7 – Last Day of ClassesSession III (10 weeks – May 26 to August 5)
Tuesday, May 26 – Classes begin
Thursday, May 28 – No Classes (Commencement)
Friday, July 3 – No Classes (College Closed)
Friday, July 17 – Last Day to Withdraw from classes
Wednesday, August 5 – Last Day of ClassesSession IV (7 weeks – June 15 to August 4)
Monday, June 15 – Classes begin
Friday, July 3 – No Classes (College Closed)
Friday, July 17 – Last Day to Withdraw from classes
Tuesday, August 4 – Last Day of Classes

Fall Semester 2015

Fall Semester 2015

Day Date Description
Tuesday August 25 Faculty Semester Begins
Tue-Fri Aug. 25-28 Last-Minute Registration, Orientation Sessions
Thursday August 27 Adjunct Faculty Professional Development Event
Monday August 31 CLASSES BEGIN
Saturday September 5 Saturday Classes Begin – CLASSES HELD
Monday September 7 Labor Day – NO CLASSES
Monday  September 14  Last Day to Add/Drop CoursesLast Day for 50% Tuition Refund
Thursday September 17 Constitution Day – CLASSES HELD
 Monday  September 21   “LATE START” CLASSES BEGIN
 Monday  October 12  Columbus Day – CLASSES HELD
 Mon-Fri  November 2-24  Priority Advising & Registration for Continuing Students
 Friday  November 6  Last Day to Make Up “Incompletes” from Spring/Summer 2014
 Wednesday  November 11  Veterans’ Day – CLASSES HELD
 Friday   November 13   Last Day to Withdraw from ClassesGraduation Applications Due for December Completers
Wed-Sun 

 

 

 Nov. 25-29 

 

 

 Thanksgiving Recess – NO CLASSESWed., 11/25 – Veterans’ Day Observed (College Open, Faculty Holiday)
Thur., 11/26 – Thanksgiving Day (College Closed)
Fri., 11/27 – Day After Thanksgiving (College Open, Faculty Holiday)
Sat., 11/28 and 11/29 – No Classes (College Closed)
 Tuesday  December 8  Reading/Make-Up Day – NO REGULARLY SCHEDULED CLASSES
Friday  December 11  Last Day of Classes
 Sat-Fri  December 12-18  Final Exams
 Saturday  December 19  Final Exam Make-Up Day (necessary only if college is closed due to inclement weather or emergency on a day when Final Exams are scheduled)
 Tuesday  December 22  Grades due by 9:00am Faculty Semester Ends

Winter Intersession 2015-2016

Winter Intersession 2015-2016

Day Date Descriptions
Monday December 28 WINTER CLASSES BEGIN
Mon-Thur Dec. 28-31 Classes Held
Friday January 1 New Year’s Day – NO CLASSES
Mon-Fri January 4-8 Classes Held
Mon-Fri January 11-14 Classes Held
Tuesday January 19 Grades Due by 9:00AM

Spring Semester 2016

Day Date Description
Monday January 18 Martin Luther King Day – NO CLASSES
Tuesday January 19 Faculty Semester Begins
Tue-Wed Jan. 19-20 Last-Minute Registration, Orientation Sessions
Tuesday January 19 Adjunct Faculty Professional Development Event
Thursday January 21 CLASSES BEGIN
Wednesday February 3 Last Day to Add/Drop CoursesLast Day for 50%Tuition Refund
Friday  February 12  Lincoln’s Birthday – NO CLASSES, COLLEGE OPEN
 Monday  February 15  Washington’s Birthday (Observed) – COLLEGE CLOSED
 Tuesday  February 16  “LATE START” CLASSES BEGIN
 Mon-Sun March 21-27  Spring Break – NO CLASSES, COLLEGE OPEN
 Mon-Fri  April 4-29  Priority Advising & Registration for Continuing Students
 Wednesday  April 6  Last Day to Make Up “Incompletes” from Fall 2015
 Wednesday  April 13  Last Day to Withdraw from Classes
 Friday  April 15  GRADUATION APPLICATIONS DUE
 Friday  April 29  Academic ConviviumAcademic Awards Night
Thursday May 5  Reading/Make-Up Day – NO REGULARLY SCHEDULED CLASSES
 Monday  May 9 Last Day of Classes
 Tue-Mon  May 10-16  Final Exams
 Tuesday  May 17  Final Exam Make-Up Day (necessary only if college is closed due to inclement weather or emergency on a day when Final Exams are scheduled)
 Thursday  May 19  Grades Due by 9:00AM
 Thursday  May 26  COMMENCEMENT, 6:00pm