Middlesex Community College Foundation Awards 86 Scholarships

May 27, 2020 (Middletown, Conn.) — On May 27, the Middlesex Community College Foundation conducted a virtual Scholarship Awards Ceremony and awarded 86 scholarships totaling $82,200. The foundation extends thanks to all the generous donors and congratulations to all the recipients. Watch video.

The MxCC Foundation announced two new endowed scholarships that were given for the first time, Dean Adrienne Maslin Endowed Scholarship and the Sarah Cavanaugh Memorial Scholarship.

“This award is really going to open up opportunities for me,” said Kamie Thornton, an art studies student from Southington, who received the Sarah Cavanaugh Memorial Scholarship. “Last year I was diagnosed with ovarian cancer, and it has been quite a struggle for myself and my family. Having this award is really going to help me towards my end goal to apply for a graduate degree in art therapy. I hope to work with families and children that deal with medical diagnoses.”

scholarship screenshotMxCC employee Michael Cavanaugh and his wife, Sharon, virtually presented the memorial award named after their daughter, Sarah, who passed away in 2016. This scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in the art studies or fine arts associate degree program. The award is presented to a new or returning student in good academic standing with a 2.5 or higher grade point average (GPA).

The Dean Adrienne Maslin Endowed Scholarship was established last year by the MxCC Student Senate in honor of Adrienne Maslin, Dean of Students Emerita. Dean Maslin presented the award to Nicole Charest, a fine arts major from Durham. This award goes to a graduating student transferring to a four-year institution with strong evidence of participation in college activities and a GPA of 2.5 or higher.

Riley McConnell, a communication studies major from Middletown, received the Mayor’s Scholarship at MxCC, which was presented online by Middletown’s mayor, Ben Florsheim. This award is given to a full-time student who is a graduate of a Middletown high school with a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Two Meriden students, Norah Jones and Gary Lambert, earned the Carolyn and Ken Innocenzi Meriden Administrator Scholarship, which they also presented online. This scholarship is awarded to one female and one male student, both from Meriden and preferably attending MxCC@Platt, with a 2.0 or higher GPA and a demonstrated willingness to succeed.

The student recipients were chosen to receive assistance to further their educations by a dedicated scholarship committee that carefully followed the criteria set forth and funded by individuals, businesses, clubs, alumni, and corporations through the Middlesex Community College Foundation, Inc.

All of the scholarship award recipients are listed below.

Altrusa International of Central Connecticut Scholarship
Quiana Jones – Meriden

Alumni Endowed Scholarship
Britney Godfrey – North Branford

Rowland and Ruth Beaulieu Business Administration Scholarship
Norah Jones – Meriden
Jennifer Musco – Wallingford
Quenisha Williams – Meriden

Rowland and Ruth Beaulieu Endowed Scholarship
Shauntazia Davenport – Meriden

Boris Burack Endowed Scholarship
John Guillamon – Deep River

Patrick Campbell Scholarship
Giuseppe Emanuele – New Britain

Sarah Cavanaugh Memorial Scholarship
Kamie Thornton – Southington

Dave Champion Memorial Scholarship
Elizabeth Luksic – Meriden

Robert A. Chapman Endowed Scholarship
Quinn Ernst – Westbrook
Tavish Ernst – Westbrook

Hugh and Judith Cox Scholarship
Tessa Hailey – Groton
Destini Kennedy – New Britain
Elizabeth McLean – Middletown
Bryan Prado – Hartford

Dean Adrienne Maslin Endowed Scholarship
Nicole Charest – Durham

Dean’s Endowed Scholarship
Quenisha Williams – Meriden

Catherine L. Dennis Endowed Scholarship
Iris Morales – Southington
Jessenia Sterling – Southington

Eames Family Endowed Scholarship
Abigail Mele – Cobalt
Sarah Wall – Wallingford

Founders Endowed Scholarship
Victoria Footit – Meriden

Edie Fuld Endowed Scholarship
Emira Martin – Meriden

Gandhi Endowed Scholarship
Briana Martin – Coventry

Gene Haas Foundation Scholarship
Elizabeth Moag – East Berlin

The Carolyn & Ken Innocenzi Meriden Administrator Scholarship
Norah Jones – Meriden
Gary Lambert – Meriden

Paul L. Jones Foundation Scholarship
Sylvana Burno – Clinton
Alene Dubrosky – Hartford
Jazmyn Freeman – Middletown
Patricia Kiszka – Higganum
Afkar Mubarak – Bristol
Michael Murallo – Uncasville
Lesley Phaneuf – Old Lyme
Gwenyth Pytel – Middletown
Corrine Yasevac – Branford

Nihla and Bob Lapidus Foundation Scholarship
Eva-LaRue Barber – Branford
Alexander Foster – Ivoryton
Alyssa Pardo – Chester

Herbert Levine MD Endowed Scholarship
Joshua Budney – Meriden

Liberty Bank Foundation Scholarship
Alyssa Andrews – Moodus
Gracy Chapman – Haddam
Autumn Church – Portland
Cristopher Guzman – Westbrook
Elizabeth Luksic – Meriden
Elizabeth McLean – Middletown
Sharnice Turner – Middletown

Lisa Massita Scholarship
John Howell – Durham

Mayor’s Scholarship for Middletown at MxCC
Riley McConnell – Middletown

Melvin-Zaffino Scholarship
Cara Ann Dominello – Wallingford

MILE Scholarship
Rohini Patil – Middletown
Matthew Ryan – Newington

Dean Richard Muniz Endowed Scholarship
Marisol Garcia – Hartford

MxCC Faculty Endowed Scholarship
Julia Dietz – Plantville

MxCC Foundation Scholarship
Norah Jones – Meriden

Stephanie Nelson Scholarship
Kyon Wilson – Middletown

Peach Pit Foundation Scholarship
Adam Gomez – Killingworth

Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship
John Guillamon – Deep River

Record-Journal Foundation Scholarship
Shauntazia Davenport – Meriden
Thomas Laskowski – Wallingford

Raymond S. Robinson Endowed
Julie Budney – Meriden
Sarrah Mierzejewski – Middletown
Jennifer Mol – New Britain
Bryan Prado – Hartford

Martha DePecol Sanner Endowed Scholarship
Alexis Clark – Meriden
Raena Anne Ferguson – Niantic
Jennifer Musco – Wallingford

Jesse J. Salafia Nursing Award
Adele Veilleux – Portland

Susan M. Smart Memorial Scholarship
Jennifer Haddad – Willimantic

Judith and Robert Walsh Scholarship
Britney Godfrey – North Branford

Philip and Amy Wheaton Endowed Scholarship
Jimmy Mendoza – Meriden
Selena Rivera – Meriden

Charles and Rachel Wiltsie Scholarship
Jennifer Haddad – Willimantic

The STRIVE Scholarship
Alene Dubrosky – Hartford
Nhan Duong – Meriden
Marisol Garcia – Hartford
Gary Lambert – Meriden
Afkar Mubarak – Bristol
Natalia Razmakhnin – Hamden

MxCC STEM Scholarship
Kayla Lee Nowak – Northward

Precision Metalforming Association (PMA) Scholarship
Elizabeth Moag – East Berlin

Middlesex United Way Women’s Initiative
Brenda Lira Velasco – Middletown

Women in STEM Support Scholarship
Adele Veilleux – Portland

About the MxCC Foundation
The purpose of the MxCC Foundation, Inc., a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) public charity incorporated in Connecticut, is twofold: to support the college and its students by receiving, managing, and distributing funds for scholarships and other educational purposes, and to generate and strengthen communication and collaboration between the college and the foundation and business, industry, professional, civic, and educational leaders in the communities served by the college—all of Middlesex County, Meriden and Wallingford in New Haven County, and Rocky Hill in Hartford County.

About Middlesex Community College
Since 1966, Middlesex Community College has provided high-quality, affordable, and accessible education to a diverse population, enhancing the strengths of individuals through degree, certificate, and lifelong learning programs that lead to university transfer, employment, and an enriched awareness of our shared responsibilities as global citizens. A part of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities system, MxCC offers more than 70 degree or certificate programs at the main 35-acre campus in Middletown, MxCC@Platt in Meriden, and online.