MxCC Phi Theta Kappa Earns Awards and Conducts Induction Ceremony

May 1, 2020 (Middletown, Conn.) — The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society chapter at Middlesex Community College inducted 58 new members on Friday, April 24, 2020, during an online ceremony. Two additional virtual announcements acknowledged student members with awards. Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is the world’s largest honor society for two-year colleges. The organization rewards outstanding academic excellence while promoting leadership, fellowship and service.

PTK zoom compositeAt the induction ceremony, college CEO Steven Minkler announced a first for MxCC. An MxCC student, who participates in the Center for Prison Education program with Wesleyan and wishes to remain anonymous, earned the PTK Golden Opportunity Scholar national award, which waives the PTK membership fee.

On April 17, PTK members Joshua Budney of Meriden, John Guillamon of Deep River and Abigail Ingalls of Ledyard were recognized by the governor’s office as part of the Phi Theta Kappa All-Connecticut Academic Team, which acknowledges scholarly achievements and leadership accomplishments of students enrolled in the state’s community colleges. Ingalls was also named a New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar. Sponsored by PTK and the Coca-Cola Foundation, this scholarship of $1,250 is a national award for students who directly enter the workforce after earning their degree. More than 2,000 students were nominated nationwide, but only one student is selected from each state.

PTK logoIn a virtual ceremony conducted on March 13, Laura Schneider of Middletown earned first place for the Most Distinguished Chapter Member award on the regional level (New England) and again on the national level. A member since Fall 2017, Schneider embodies the hallmarks of PTK—service, fellowship, leadership and scholarship.

The MxCC chapter, also known as Beta Gamma Xi, received the second place award in the Honors in Action Theme—“World of Work” for the New England region. To earn this award, PTK students co-hosted a Courageous Conversation called “Reframing Stress in the World of Work and School” last fall. Members York Clement, Chris Currie, Alexander Foster, Pink He, Guillamon, Gary Lambert, Jack Howell and Schneider helped plan the project.

“Our goal was…to change the way we look at stress in order to gain control of overwhelming experiences,” said Guillamon, who is the Beta Gamma Xi chapter president. “This project turned myself and my fellow officers into leaders on our campus. These experiences have prepared us for everything going forward in our educational and professional careers.” Guillamon also received the Coca Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar award.

By maintaining a 3.65 GPA with a minimum of 12 credits, the following students were inducted at the April 24 ceremony. Watch the video.

Luka Augeri, Middletown
Eva-Larue Barber, Branford
Bianca Bates, Wethersfield
Yacine Beldjoudi, Middletown
Felicia Benson, Hamden
Nicole Bernard, East Hampton
Erin Berry, Westbrook
Paula Bousquet, Durham
Akum Bowman, Berlin
Ashley Brooke, Clinton
Joshua Budney, Meriden
Rachel Bulgini, Clinton
Gregory Corvo, Cromwell
Demarie Del Vecchio, Durham
Taylor Demarco, Wethersfield
Sarah Demasi, Cromwell
Mary Grace Denvir, Killingworth
Julia Dietz, Plantsville
Boris Dizik, Middletown
Jussonjah Duby, Meriden
Nhan Duong, Meriden
Edward Evans, Meriden
Stephanie Finaldi, Durham
Abigail Gagliardi, Meriden
Emily Gagliardi, Meriden
Skye Gilbert, Wallingford
Adam Gomez, Killingworth
Omar Gonzalez-Solano, Meriden
Jennifer Haddad, Willimantic
Samantha Halpin, Meriden
John Howell, Durham
Kimberly Howley, East Haddam
Abigail Ingalls, Ledyard
Peter Kuzmich, Wallingford
Gary Lambert, Meriden
Thomas Laskowski, Wallingford
Cory Livernoche, Westbrook
Graziella Longo, Meriden
Jamie McEnerney, Meriden
Ryan McKeon, Clinton
Elizabeth McLean, Middletown
Jesse McQuillan, Middletown
Abigail Mele, Cobalt
Katherine Orsini, Wallingford
Rohini Patil, Middletown
Shayla Patterson, Middletown
Brianna Poissant, Middletown
Georgine-Reign Revilloza, Middletown
Amber Robinson, Old Saybrook
Samantha Russo, Granby
Skyler Sentino, Cromwell
Olivia Smith, Deep River
Gregory Sulla, Rocky Hill
Kamie Thornton, Southington
Robert Walling, Durham
Barakah White, Higganum

Also during the induction ceremony, MxCC Dean of Administration Kimberly Hogan, Associate Professor of Human Services Jennifer Hernandez and Director of Student Activities Janet Klinck received “Stoles of Gratitude” for helping the PTK chapter succeed.

For more information about PTK at MxCC, please visit

Since 1966, Middlesex Community College has provided high-quality, affordable, and accessible education to a diverse population, enhancing the strengths of individuals through degree, certificate, and lifelong learning programs that lead to university transfer, employment, and an enriched awareness of our shared responsibilities as global citizens. A part of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities system, MxCC offers more than 70 degree or certificate programs at the main 35-acre campus in Middletown, MxCC@Platt in Meriden, and online.