Security officer positions are available in many businesses, such as, security agencies, retail, hospitals, banks, housing complexes, and construction. Connecticut General Statute #29-161(q) mandates that all state of Connecticut security officers complete an eight-hour training course for certification. Successful completion of this day-long course fulfills this requirement. You will be learning essential information required for security officers from an instructor who has been approved by the commissioner of the Department of Public Safety to teach this course. The course covers an overview of private security, public safety issues, search and seizure, use of force, basic criminal justice, and basic first aid. Participants are required to complete a written exam at the end of the course and achieve a passing grade of 75 percent. Upon successful completion, students apply for a security officer identification card from the state of Connecticut. This procedure will be covered in class. Please bring a lunch to class.
This eight-hour course may be waived on the basis of equivalent training completed in the National Guard or armed services. A veteran of the armed services must present qualification within two years of discharge in order to have the course requirement waived.
There is an additional cost of $214 for fingerprinting, state and federal background checks and security card. These are not included in the cost of the course.
Note: Students who have a criminal background are not eligible for State of Connecticut Security Officer Certification.
Upcoming Courses for Summer 2022
Registration is not guaranteed until payment is received or 3rd party payment is confirmed.
Upon registration, you will receive an email from Mx-WorkforceDevelopment@MxCC.edu, and in that email, we will include instructions for payment.
Instructions for Making Payments Online
Please click here for step-by-step instructions on how to make payments online. These instructions work for both credit and non-credit (continuing education) courses.
A full tuition refund can be made if you withdraw from your course at least one working day before the course start date. Once the course has started, refunds are only provided under special circumstances and require a written request to the Workforce Development and Continuing Education Office. They are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. A refund is not guaranteed.