Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Induction Held at MxCC

March 29, 2019 (Middletown, Conn.) — The Middlesex Community College (MxCC) chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), Beta Gamma Xi, inducted 53 new members at a ceremony on Friday, March 29, 2019, on the Middletown campus. Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society that rewards academic excellence while promoting leadership, fellowship, and service, was established nationally in 1918 and chartered at MxCC in 1996.

This year’s inductees have distinguished themselves as high achievers, both as scholars and as members of the MxCC community. They have earned and maintained a grade point average of 3.65 during their college studies and have also participated in a variety of extracurricular activities designed to better their own lives and the lives of those around them.

“You can do the hard work, but don’t be afraid to fail,” said York Clement, president of Beta Gamma Xi chapter, to the inductees. “I struggled with public speaking and at first failed at becoming the vice president of the chapter so I became the treasurer instead. This made me more confident and prepared to then run for president. Always be willing to fail on your way to success.”

The following students were inducted into the honor society:

Ryan AppoldAvon
Alexander BarzalloWestbrook
Samantha BelangerBristol
Kevin BjarnasonDurham
Aquia Brown-WelchMeriden
Erin CapozzaNiantic
Dennis ClarkeRocky Hill
Chelsea ColellaUncasville
Kevin ConableWallingford
Rachel CrawfordWaterford
Christopher CurrieEssex
Ryan DouglasDeep River
Ailis FrostEast Hampton
Mia GiacomettiBrookfield
Anne GibbsMeriden
Annalise GormleyEast Berlin
Yi Guan-RaczkowskiGlastonbury
John GuillamonDeep River
Ping HeChester
Amy HeidelNew Britain
Hailey HicksBarrington
Marlah HohlfelderGuilford
Catharine HolcroftColumbia
Chassidy JohnsonMiddletown
Isabelle KirschbaumWest Hartford
Aleah LongMiddletown
Ceraina MaggiorePortland
Benjamin MaustellerColchester
Jose MelecioMiddletown
Aileen MillerMeriden
Samantha MimsEast Haddam
Elizabeth MoagMiddletown
Karen MolloyDurham
Lina OrlandoHigganum
Austin PappollaNorth Branford
Eric PinsonneaultWallingford
Jennifer ReillyOld Saybrook
Elijah RodriguezMiddletown
Genise RodriguezMeriden
Rany SarkarMiddletown
Richard SienaMiddletown
Joseph SimmonsWallingford
Liane StenholmCromwell
Jessenia SterlingSouthington
Lisa ThibodeauxGlastonbury
Eboni TraversoMeriden
Connie TurkingtonHigganum
Danielle VoyerEast Haddam
Caitlyn WakefieldRocky Hill
Sarah WallWallingford
Connor WilkeClinton
Melissa WolfeYalesville

PTK advisor Donna Bontatibus, PhD, hosted the ceremony, with greetings from Steven Minkler, EdD, Campus CEO and dean of academic affairs. Co-advisors Landi Hou, MS, and Lin Lin, PhD, also gave remarks, as well as Adrienne Maslin, PhD, dean of students. For more information about PTK at MxCC, please visit

PTK inductees

PTK officers  PTK inductees  Minkler with Bontatibus


Since 1966, Middlesex Community College has provided high-quality, affordable, and accessible education to a diverse population, enhancing the strengths of individuals through degree, certificate, and lifelong learning programs that lead to university transfer, employment, and an enriched awareness of our shared responsibilities as global citizens. A part of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities system, MxCC offers more than 70 degree or certificate programs at the main 35-acre campus in Middletown, MxCC@Platt in Meriden, and online.